Books Read in 2022

It can be challenging to find the time to read books, no matter who you are. We all have the same number of hours in the day but unlike in times past, phones never stop competing for our attention. Thus, it is my phone that interrupts and eats up the 10-15 minutes here and there that could be spent reading a few pages, not my kids.

As for the books I read this year, some were not worth mentioning. I sort of drifted off into some whim reading and finished a couple of books that were a waste of time. I’m listing here the ones worth reading.

Also, I no longer feel the pressure to finish a book if I feel I have gotten the main idea. Sometimes authors repeat themselves. Sometimes bloggers write books that are compilations of what they have said on social media already. Sometimes I am giving a book a re-read and will skim whole chapters if they are already easily recalled.

Some of these books are very short. Throwing in a mixture of short books encourages me to keep up the habit.

I’m also listing the books I read aloud to my kids in 2022. I will indicate the ages of the listeners after the titles. Unapologetically, I am not taking the time to link all of these. I’m attempting to blog what is enjoyable so that I am more likely to stick with it, and spending time linking is not enjoyable. Ha!

Christian Growth

This World Is Not My Home: Reflections for Pilgrims on the Way by Mark Johnston

How to Eat Your Bible by Nate Pickowitz

Purposeful and Persistent Parenting by John Raquet (this is my new favorite Christian parenting resource, especially if you have kids under age ten.)

Knowing Sin by Mark Jones (this was my favorite book of the year)

Becoming Elisabeth Elliot by Helen Vaughn

Getting Back in the Race: The Cure for Backsliding by Joel Beeke

Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life by Don Whitney (Re-read. This is my third or fourth time through.)

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

High Calling of Motherhood by Walter J. Chantry

What He Must Be If He Wants to Marry My Daughter by Voddie Baucham (re-read)

How Should We Develop Biblical Friendship by Michael Haykin

The Hospitality Commands by Alexander Strauch (re-read)

The Lifegiving Home by Sally Clarkson

How Should I Exercise Hospitality by Rebecca van Doodewaard

Humble Mom: Putting on the Mind of Christ in Motherhood by Anne Sokol

The Prayer of Jabez by Charles Spurgeon

Eve in Exile by Rebekah Merkle (re-read)

Teach Them to Work: Building a Work Ethic in Children by Mary Beeke

Family Discipleship Reads of 2022

Little Pilgrim’s Big Journey by Tyler Van Halteren

The Gospel Made Clear to Children by Jennifer Adams (Outstanding book. Our church bought several copies to pass around to families to read and share)

Little Pilgrim’s Big Journey Part 2 by Tyler Van Halteren

Read-Alouds

Father and I Were Ranchers by Ralph Moody (I’m resisting the urge to review all these books but let me just say that if you are like me and have had the Little Britches series on your shelf for years without reading them, you should not delay any longer! Be sure to read aloud to skip some mild language and/or keep a marker handy to cross out the d-word.) *I read this to ages 6-16.

Man of the Family by Ralph Moody (See above. This one has strong undertones of the mother-son relationship, just as the first one did of father and son. Loved this book,)

Treasures of the Snow by Patricia St John *I read this to kids ages 6-12

Down the Long Hills by Louis Lamour *I read to ages 6-16 (younger kids may be disturbed at the opening scene of am Indian massacre on a wagon train. Also need a marker for mild language in this one.)

Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp by Jerry Stanley *I read this to ages 6-16. We read this to supplement our Depression Era history lessons in Mystery of History.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery *read to ages 6-10

Remember the Alamo by Robert Penn Warren *read to ages 6-16

The Light at Tern Rock by Julia Sauer *read to ages 6-10

Rocks Rivers and the Changing Earth by Herman Schneider *read to ages 6-12

Bonus: Current Reads

This year I want to strive to keep at least one fiction book going all the time. I can’t remember who originally gave this advice, but I want to keep different levels of books going so that there is always something to pick up and read no matter how alert you feel or if it’s possible you could doze off while reading. Here is what I currently have going:

Dr. Horner’s Bible Reading Plan (this is how I read my Bible and have for years. It is not really a one year plan, per se. It’s simply ongoing.)

A Chance to Die by Elisabeth Elliot

When I Don’t Desire God by John Piper

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

Staying in Love for a Lifetime by Ed Wheat

Every Moment Holy by Douglas Kaine and Ned Bustard

Happy Reading! May the Lord bless you as you keep the Word priority and continue to grow in knowledge and wisdom from other sources he richly provides.

Leave a comment